Multicultural Committee

Multicultural Header Image
Elk Grove Proclaims its "No Place for Hate"
On September 28, 2016, the Elk Grove City Council proclaimed Elk Grove as "No Place for Hate" and presented a Proclamation to the members of the Multicultural Committee. Read the Proclamation.
Sign Up

Committee Members

The Elk Grove City Council formally established the ten member Multicultural Committee on September 14, 2011. Committee members are appointed by the Mayor, with the approval of the City Council, pursuant to Elk Grove Municipal Code Chapter 1.03

Multicultural Committee Roster:

Name Position
Scott Matsumoto Chair
Mohinder Singh Vice Chair
Dr. Bernice M. Bass de Martinez Committee Member
Jinky Dolar Committee Member
Rev. Dr. Raymond L. Hess III Committee Member
Marie Mertz Committee Member
Bhavin K. Parikh, MD Committee Member

Gurjatinder Randhawa

Committee Member
Dr. R. Ashok Shankar   Committee Member
Kris Tan  Committee Member 


Third Tuesday of each month
Meeting Time: 6:00 p.m.

Elk Grove City Hall
Council Chambers
8400 Laguna Palms Way
Elk Grove, CA 95758

For meeting changes, please view Agendas & Minutes.

Tasks and Objectives

The scope of the City of Elk Grove Multicultural Committee is as follows:

  • Research and plan an annual Elk Grove multicultural festival.
  • Educate the community about the City of Elk Grove's cultural diversity.
  • Advise on best practices for conducting outreach to various ethnic communities and faith-based organizations in Elk Grove.
  • Provide guidance to the City Council on issues impacting multicultural communities.

The Committee also reviews Sister Cities requests and promotes diversity awareness through a Diversity Pledge program  that was launched in August 2011.  More information about the program is available at

© ELK GROVE 2017All Rights Reserved. Privacy SatementPowered