Diversity and Inclusion Commission

Multicultural Header Image

Elk Grove Proclaims it's "No Place for Hate"

On September 28, 2016, the Elk Grove City Council first proclaimed Elk Grove as "No Place for Hate" and presented a Proclamation to the members of the Diversity and Inclusion Commission. Read the Proclamation. On October 25, 2017, the Elk Grove City Council reaffirmed their commitment to the city's "No Place for Hate" proclamation. View the 2017 Proclamation.

Learn more about the City's 2017 Humanity campaign and the community discussion on race relations here.

Commission Members

The Elk Grove City Council formally established the ten member Multicultural Committee on September 14, 2011. Diversity and Inclusion Commission members are appointed by the Mayor, with the approval of the City Council, pursuant to Elk Grove Municipal Code Chapter 1.03

Diversity and Inclusion Commission Roster:

Name Position
Mohinder Singh Chair
Dr. R. Ashok Shankar Vice Chair
Arjumand S. Azeemi Commission Member
Jessica Carter  Commission Member
Jinky Dolar Commission Member
Rev. Dr. Raymond L. Hess III Commission Member
Scott Matsumoto Committee Member
Bhavin K. Parikh, MD Commission Member
Gurjatinder Randhawa Committee Member
Kristofer J. Tan, MBA Committee Member


Third Tuesday of each month
Meeting Time: 6:00 p.m.


Elk Grove City Hall
Council Chambers
8400 Laguna Palms Way
Elk Grove, CA 95758

For meeting changes, please view Agendas and Minutes.

Tasks and Objectives

The scope of the City of Elk Grove Diversity and Inclusion Commission is as follows:

  • Research and plan an annual Elk Grove multicultural festival.
  • Educate the community about the City of Elk Grove's cultural diversity.
  • Advise on best practices for conducting outreach to various ethnic communities and faith-based organizations in Elk Grove.
  • Provide guidance to the City Council on issues impacting multicultural communities.

The Commission also reviews Sister Cities requests and promotes diversity awareness through a Diversity Pledge program that was launched in August 2011.

© 2019 City of Elk Grove